Poor Chanute!

Posted: June 3, 2009 in Construction Notes

I was cruising the tubes recently, looking at some info and theories about the Air France flight 447 tragedy, when a I came across a good article about how the weather may have been involved in the accident.  I started looking around the rest of the author’s web site and found we had a some parallels in our career paths, including spending some time at Chanute Air Force Base.  So I ended up researching and reminiscing about Chanute.  I was stationed there in 1985/86 and have lots of good, faded memories from what seems like a lifetime ago.  It was at Chanute that I learned how to observe and forecast the weather.  Yes, I use to be a “weatherman”.  Anyway, I was floored when I saw some recent pictures of the base.  I knew in closed in the 1990’s, but always assumed  the base and it’s assets were put to good use.  Not!  Some areas look like they were abandon a hundred years ago!  Suddenly I feel even older.  Check out these pictures, and these.  Yikes!

I plan to stop at the former base once the plane is flying to check things out first-hand.  The flash backs should be interesting!

Leave a comment