Aileron Push Tubes

Posted: June 13, 2009 in Construction Notes

20090609a.jpgI used the longer MD3616M rod end bearing on the W-716 aileron push tubes.  The thread length is a generous 1-1/8″.  The shorter M3614M REB’s that come with the kit only have about 3/4″ of thread on them.  Even though I made the push tubes exactly per the plans, when the pushrods were test fit in the wing and fuselage with the shorter REB I had exactly the minimum “one-half the threads” engaged.  Knowing first hand that these can come loose, ‘minimum’ was close to the edge for me so I ordered the longer REB’s.  $14.66 each was worth the peace of mind.

I ordered them from Van’s.  They only list them on their parts list, not directly in the web store.

BEARING MD3616M       3/16X3/8M LONG RD END       $14.66

Leave a comment